Skip to content

#VRT10 – Presentation

October 11, 2010

I had the honor to present, “Bring the World in – Blogging with Your Students”, on the 3rd Virtual Round Table Conference. I was really nervous, because it was my first online and in English presentation. However, it was an amazing experience for me.

I’d like to thank all the people who attended my session. I’d also like to thank my PLN. You keep helping me become a better educator every day. I’m so thankful for your encouragement and support.

I really hope you dive into blogging just as I did. It is a meaningful learning experience that will definitely make a difference for your students. Please feel free to contact me if you need any help or advice.

Here’s the link to the recording: http://lancelot.emea.acrobat.com/p58351004 and I’d also like to share this Google Doc with all the resources that were mentioned on the presentation.

View this document on Scribd

These are the slides that I used on the session.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 2:27 pm

    Hi Greta!

    Thanks for posting the links here. As I mentioned on Twitter earlier, I told my head of department about kidsblog today and how you’ve been using it and she was impressed. I will definitely be sending her the link to your presentation so she can see for herself.

    As I mentioned before, we have the issue of dealing with a large number of students but I pointed out marking assignments and homework could be replaced (partially at least) by checking and reviewing blog posts. Of course, seperate blogs for each class would be needed. Can you have more than one class blog running at a time with kid blog?

    Also, would you mind if I link to your presentation on my Teachers’ Network site (When I get a page about blogging set up that is)?

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    DavidD

    • October 11, 2010 6:07 pm

      Hi Dave,

      Thanks so much! Yes, you can set up more than one class blog on kidblog. There’s an option to create a new class on the control panel. Let me know if you can’t find it, I can create a screencast for you.
      I’d be honored if you linked my presentation on your Teachers’ Network Site. It really means a lot!
      I’m so glad you were inspired by my presentation. Thank you for joining me! Please, let me know if I can be of any help!

  2. October 11, 2010 2:47 pm

    Hi Greta!

    Congratulations on your very first presentation! I know how good it feels because it was my very first online presentation as well. :)

    I’ve also started a blogging project with my students this semester and I’m sure most of them loved the idea. It’s definitely about stopping the “hand it in” and start with the “publish it”, as you said. :)

    Cheers!

    • October 11, 2010 6:17 pm

      Hi Rick!
      Thanks so much! Congratulations too! I know your presentation was great! I wanted to attend, but it was kind of early for me. I’ll definitely watch the recording!

      I’m sure your students love blogging. I agree… Let’s stop saying “hand it in” and start saying “publish it” Thanks for your support!

  3. Mário Lindberg permalink
    October 11, 2010 3:35 pm

    Congratulatons Gretaa!!
    It was a wonderful presentation and I’m looking forward to attend the next VRT Conference.
    I could learn a lot from you and I’ll try it with my Ss too.
    Nice meeting you, I hope we can exchange some more ideas along the road!
    Cheers,
    Mario Lindberg.

    • October 11, 2010 6:19 pm

      Thank you so much Mario! I really appreciate your kind words. I’m so glad you’ll start blogging with your students!
      We’ll be definitely sharing ideas and learning with and from each other! Please let me know if I can be of any help!
      Thanks again!

  4. October 11, 2010 9:15 pm

    Hi Greta,

    Congratulations Greta! I’m so glad that I could watch your presentation that I missed on Saturday. Definitely you taught us that blogging not only improves the writing skills but also the students’ perception with the world. Indeed it’s ” Wonderful Learning Environment”. As you know, I’ve started recently a blog project with my students, they’re still quite shy, but I’m sure they will improve gradually. Thanks for this brilliant idea.

    Cheers!
    Lu Podschun
    @inglesinteract

    • October 12, 2010 12:21 am

      Hi Lu! Thanks so much for your support! I’m so glad you started blogging with your students. You’ll see how great it is. Your students and you will love it.
      Thanks again for your kind words. Love having you in my PLN.

  5. October 13, 2010 4:27 pm

    Congratulations! I’m sorry I missed the live event but am so glad I can get the recorded version.

    • October 13, 2010 6:07 pm

      Thank you Kelly! Don’t worry about missing my presentation, I totally understand! I hope you enjoy watching it. I’m really thankful for your support!

  6. October 31, 2010 6:28 am

    Wow!!! You are such an inspiration… it’s so moving to see what you have achieved with limited resources in such a short time. Your enthusiasm and love of your job shines through in your presentation and your kids are lucky to have you as a teacher.
    I work as an English teacher in Spain and I too have started blogging with my students. I started the blog myself, so that I could learn the ropes, using the blog as a way of bringing together resources and syllabus related content for the class. During this time the kids would write comments and put forward suggestions for the blog. Now, after a year I have decided to involve the students directly by teaching them how to write their own posts and your presentation has given me lots of ideas as to how to develop this. However, the students have jumped at the opportunity to be “reporters” and are writing posts quicker than I can approve them. I now want to try the progress correcting that you mention, as until now I was correcting their mistakes for them, but your way makes them more aware of their mistakes and I hope their writing will improve through this. I also want to make them write better posts and think about the content, and I plan to do a Paper Blog project to reinforce this.
    I also run a blogging activity at local libraries which is proving to be very popular. http://www.theblog.coruna.es
    Thank you and congratulations!!!

    • October 31, 2010 5:40 pm

      Wow, thanks so much for your words. It really means a lot. Thanks for sharing your story too. I’m so glad you found my presentation useful. Please, tell me about the paper blogs activity and how it goes. I’m planning to do it next year. As I said on the presentation, I read about it after I had started blogging. Please, do tell me how the process writing goes too. I’ll definitely check out the blogging activity at local library blog. Sounds like a wonderful thing to do. Let me know if I can be of any help. Thanks again!

Trackbacks

  1. links for 2010-10-11 | MYAM's Blog
  2. Blogging with Students: Interview with Greta Sandler | Teacher Reboot Camp
  3. My 2010 Most Memorable Teaching Moments « About a Teacher
  4. New Teacher Boot Camp Fall Re-Boot:Week 5~Using Blogs #ntchat #FollowFriday « Teaching with Soul

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

