Skip to content

Bring the World in – Blogging with Your Students

October 4, 2010

A few months ago, I remember reading a post by Joan Young, “Challenging Myself to New Ventures“, where she thoughtfully compared how she felt about presenting online for the first time with a roller coaster ride. I can totally understand how she felt, because I’m on my roller coaster ride now…

When I started my blog I wrote about my Twitter adventure and how my Personal Learning Network or PLN keeps surprising me each day. My teaching has changed greatly, I started blogging and so have my students, and now it turns out: I’ll be presenting about blogging with students on the Virtual Round Table Conference (#VRT10), which is a free semi-annual online event.

Blogging with my students has been an amazing experience for me and the kids. Yes… their writing and reading skills have improved, but blogging is so much more than that. We have expanded our classroom walls and brought the world into it. What is more, this has led to a wonderful learning environment.

I’m really excited about sharing our adventure. My presentation “Bring the World in – Blogging with Your Students” will be on October 9th at 5pm GMT. You can also check out all the upcoming presentations here.

Let’s continue learning and sharing together. I’m really looking forward to seeing you all there!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 7:31 pm

    I’m so excited about this presentation, Greta! I think that blogging is a great way to bring the world into your classroom, and you’ve definitely done that through your student blogs.

    Aviva

    • October 4, 2010 8:40 pm

      Thanks so much Aviva! Blogging is an amazing experience. I’m really excited about presenting. I hope I inspire other educators to blog by sharing my story. Thanks for your support and encouragement! It means a lot!

  2. October 4, 2010 8:36 pm

    It was been fun to watch you on this journey! I love the phrase “expanding your classroom walls and brought the world into it.” PERFECT description of student and even personal blogging. I’m looking forward to your presentation! It may feel like a roller coaster … but I know you will do just fine!

    Kathy

    • October 4, 2010 8:43 pm

      Thank you Kathy! I’m so glad I met you. I love sharing this journey with you. Your support means a lot. Thanks so much!

  3. October 4, 2010 9:14 pm

    Hi Greta,

    I guess you must be overwhelmed by the excitement of doing this presentation. Definitely you’ve taught us that blogging with students is one of the best connections that the student can have with the world as well as student and teacher. You’re simply great!

    Luciana Podschun
    Brazil
    @inglesinteract

    • October 4, 2010 9:30 pm

      Thank you Lu! I really appreciate your kind words. I’m thrilled about presenting this Saturday! I hope you can make it! Would love to “see” you there! Thanks for your support and encouragement!

  4. October 4, 2010 9:52 pm

    You will do great! Make sure you a) keep it about student learning and b) enjoy the experience!

    • October 4, 2010 10:01 pm

      Thank you! I really appreciate your kind words and advice! It means a lot!

  5. Gail permalink
    October 5, 2010 8:46 am

    Greta,

    You will be a terrific presenter because you are passionate about the impact that blogging has had on you and your students and your passion will transmit to the audience. They will appreciate your sincerity as you share your journey with them.

    Lot’s of good luck, you know that I’ll be thinking of you!!!!

    Best,
    Gao;

    • October 5, 2010 9:44 am

      Thanks so much Gail! You are wonderful Gail. I seriously appreciate your encouragement and support. It really means a lot! Thanks again!

  6. Gail permalink
    October 5, 2010 8:47 am

    Look at me I didn’t edit and I typed my name incorrectly, gotta laugh

    Best,
    Gail

  7. October 5, 2010 9:44 am

    It happens to me all the time! =)

  8. October 5, 2010 4:12 pm

    Looking forward to it Greta! Congratulations and let the rollercoaster ride begin🙂

    • October 5, 2010 7:15 pm

      Thank you so much Kelly! So glad I can share this journey with you!

  9. October 6, 2010 2:12 pm

    Good luck Greta – Looking forward to your VRT presentation – you have so much powerful testimony to the usefulness of blogging in raising students’ skills. I loved reading your posts on it. Please keep us informed on every step of your adventures in the blogosphere – it really is very inspiring and has got me thinking about blogging with my students.

    Best wishes,

    Sean

    • October 6, 2010 11:48 pm

      Wow Sean! Thanks so much for you kind words! They mean a lot coming from a wonderful educator like you!
      I’m so glad my story has got you thinking about blogging with your student. I really hope you jump into it. It’s such an amazing experience! Let me know if I can be of any help!
      Thanks again!

  10. Susan Young permalink
    October 8, 2010 7:49 pm

    I just love blogging WITH your students. What an amazing opportunity for me! World over, kids are kids. They love their families, their holidays, their pets, their friends, their cousins. Canada or Argentina. All you need to do is convey your passion and excitement about this adventure during your presentation and you’ll be awesome! Best of luck, Greta. And, get some sleep😉

    • October 9, 2010 12:12 am

      Thanks so much Susan! You’re SO part of our adventure. Thanks for being so supportive and encouraging. We really appreciate it. I’ll try get some sleep (I don’t think I will though…)
      Thanks again! Love having you in my PLN!

Trackbacks

  1. #VRT10 – Presentation « About a Teacher
  2. Dear Class… « About a Teacher

Leave a Reply

