Skip to content

White Christmas Goes Global!

December 21, 2010

Once more, children have proven to me how motivated and willing to work they are when they’re involved in a meaningful project. Some days ago I was invited to Skype with Scott Akerson’s 7th Graders in St. Louis, USA. His students had many questions about Christmas in Southern America. I was asked some really great questions and they shared some wonderful stories. I found a comment one boy made particularly interesting. He thought Christmas in the summer and without snow was a bit odd. This comment was the perfect example of how wonderful connecting our classrooms with the world can be. We live in a global world, but every place has its uniqueness. Expanding our classroom walls can lead to meaningful learning opportunities and it can also help our students understand our 21st century world.

Connecting our classrooms through Skype can also help us build connections. I wrote about my Skyping adventure with my students and the amazing experience we shared with Joan Young’s class. Not only can these connections have great impact on our students, but also on us. I shared with Scott’s students how much I’ve always wanted to experience a “White Christmas”. I was really touched yesterday when I got the most beautiful Christmas gift. Turns out, after our call finished, Scott’s students started planning to give me the “White Christmas” I’ve always wished for. They have made this fantastic wallwisher for me. I can’t find the words to describe how thankful I am to them. What a touching gift!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 6:18 pm

    Wow! That’s amazing, Greta! Interacting more and more with you, I learn about the real benefit of connections. Thank you for continuing to inspire me with all you do!

    Aviva

    • December 22, 2010 10:21 am

      Thanks so much Aviva! I’ve also learned so much from you! I’m really thankful for that! Thanks for inspiring me to become a better educator every day!

  2. December 22, 2010 12:25 am

    Loved Scott’s students wallwisher White Christmas card. My favorite was the Snowman throwing snowballs. Connecting and sharing globally is a wonderful, engaging way of learning. The boy who thought a warm Christmas was odd will never forget his skype. Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from warm San Antonio TX.

    • December 22, 2010 10:23 am

      Thanks Rich! I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw it! They are a really wonderful class. I agree with you, the boy who thought a warm Christmas was odd will never forget this.
      A Merry Christmas and a wonderful 2011 to you and your family too! Looking forward to continuing learning from you next year!

  3. December 23, 2010 4:31 pm

    This is such a great post partly for the exciting opportunities that everyone would have got from connecting with someone in a completely different part of the world and learning about what things are like in that part of the world. But, the part I like best is that often teachers try and fill the last few days of term with ‘busy’ work related to Christmas activities and although sometimes, the activities can have a purpose and a meaning, they are often just used as a time filler, time saver (in terms of the little effort that’s required to orchestrate such an activity) and a way to keep children occupied so they don’t play up etc. However, in this case, the activity had a genuine purpose. It was meaningful, it wasn’t planned, it was an in the moment decision based on something that someone else has said and a groups reaction to this. If this doesn’t reflect real life then I don’t know what does.

    • December 26, 2010 3:40 pm

      Thanks so much Sarah for your comment. I agree with what you said. Tasks with a purpose and a meaning is what kids need. If we want to foster the love for learning in our students this is the kind of learning that should take place in every classroom. Thanks again!

  4. December 26, 2010 2:39 am

    What a precious and thoughtful gift!

    • December 26, 2010 3:40 pm

      Thank you Kelly! It is… I was really touched by it.

  5. angierumsey permalink
    December 31, 2010 3:21 pm

    I think skyping with other classrooms is my new goal. I have been working in a 1:1 classroom for 3 years now and still feel about5 steps behind!

Leave a Reply

